Finished reading: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley 📚

This book was nothing like I expected. Frankenstein (the scientist) is arrogant, self-absorbed, and makes incredibly bad decisions. The story itself is unbelievably far-fetched. There were times I wanted to throw my Kindle on the floor at the dumb-assedness of our unreliable protagonist.

Taken more broadly, it’s a cautionary tale about mankind’s continual push for scientific advancement, which feels more relevant today than ever.

Learn from me, if not by my precepts, at least by my example, how dangerous is the acquirement of knowledge, and how much happier that man is who believes his native town to be the world, than he who aspires to become greater than his nature will allow.

It’s easy to find fault in the style of the writing or the three-level deep epistolary narrative, but this novel arguably created the science fiction genre while delivering a warning about the unbridled use of science and technology … in 1831.

And get this: Mary Shelley was a teenager when wrote Frankenstein. A teenager!